First blog post… ever!

“This is your very first post. Click the Edit link to modify or delete it, or start a new post. If you like, use this post to tell readers why you started this blog and what you plan to do with it.”

Neat, huh?

I find the whole WordPress experience pretty cool, so far. This year is the first year I’m actually really comfortable with my life and with who I am. Maybe its the Vyvanse, maybe its just age, I don’t know. I do know that I like it.

I’m creating this space to capture who I am for other people to see. I have plenty of things around my house that tell me who I am, but that doesn’t get me very far, does it? Perhaps the subconscious inspiration for creating a public space comes from my Humanities classes. I see these great works and essays from the Enlightenment era and think “I want to be one of those people; someone known for their thoughts.” The internet is a powerful tool for this sort of thing. I have no doubt that, some day, someone will see this and trudge through the archives for no other reason than to laugh at my failure.

Hey, you. Thanks. 🙂 Everything will be okay, okay? Good luck.

As for content, I’m going to post as much of my creative writing as I’m comfortable with. This semester has clicked some magical switch and all of a sudden I’m not only proud of what I create, but I can actually read it again and edit it. So instead of mental vomit, I finally have things to craft and perfect.
I’ll also be uploading my experiments. Since paper gets lost and degrades, there’s no better way to share this stuff, yeah? It also allows me to get feedback and all sorts of neat things.
Finally I’ll do blog posts. My mind has a lot of things to say in a lot of ways and the only medium that seems to be able to handle that all is blogging. It is also great practice for article writing as well as serving as something of a portfolio.

Thanks for reading,
-J

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑